AABP Has No Beef With New Orleans

Cattle vets meet in the Big Easy for the 48th annual American Association of Bovine Practitioners conference.

A student team from Washington State University won the 2015 AABP Quiz Bowl. Competing in New Orleans were, from left, Devon Kartchner, Kevin Gavin, Kirk Ramsey and Benjamin Baird.


Suggested Veterinary Products

Describing its latest conference as the “strongest in years,” the American Association of Bovine Practitioners drew nearly 1,400 veterinarians and students to New Orleans and awarded nearly a quarter-million dollars in scholarships.

The 48th annual convention, held Sept. 17 to 19, also saw Canyon, Texas, veterinarian Steve Lewis, DVM, named Bovine Practitioner of the Year and Fred Gingrich, DVM, of Ashland, Ohio, installed as president. The meeting was heavy on education, with 17 preconference seminars, dozens of classes and a half-day session on bovine respiratory disease.

“Our overarching goal for the continuing education content of the program was to focus on the issues that the cattle veterinarian faces on a daily basis,” Dr. Gingrich said. “Animal welfare, bovine respiratory disease, practice management, providing new services to clients and current research topics are all important topics for cattle veterinarians.”

The organization’s immediate past president, John Davidson, DVM, Dipl. ABVP, was very pleased with how things went.

“This meeting was the strongest in years and a testament to our AABP member veterinarian’s commitment to a life of learning,” he said.

Scholarships totaling $239,000 were awarded to veterinary students. The largest—$7,500 Amstutz Scholarships—went to Lisa Dauten of Purdue University, Tyler Grussing and Adlai Schuler of Iowa State University, Jared Lyzenga of Michigan State University, Benjamin Potvin of Ontario Veterinary College, Julia Simons of the University of Wisconsin, and Ellen Unruh of Kansas State University.

Numerous awards, including Bovine Practitioner of the Year, were handed out during a luncheon Sept. 19. Besides Dr. Lewis, the other honorees were:

  • Merial Excellence in Preventive Medicine: Daryl Nydam, DVM, Ph.D., of Cornell University and Arnie Hentschl, DVM, of Harbor Beach, Mich.
  • AABP Award of Excellence: David Smith, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVPM, of Mississippi State University.
  • Zoetis Distinguished Service Award: Glenn Rogers, DVM, MS, Dipl. ABVP, of Aledo, Texas.
  • Merck Animal Health Mentor of the Year: Dean Christianson, DVM, of Ashley, N.D.
  • James A. Jarrett Award for Young Leaders: Elliot Stevens, DVM, MS, Ph.D., of Lincoln, Neb.
  • Cattle Production Veterinarian Hall of Fame: Jenks Britt, DVM, Dipl. ABVP, of Bowling Green, Ky., and Gary Rupp, DVM, MS, of the University of Nebraska.
Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *