AVMA Council Election Results

Listed in this article is the 17 newest council members as elected by the AVMA’s House of Delegates.

This year's Merial Concert Series features the band Lifehouse at the 145th AVMA annual convention.

Suggested Veterinary Products

The American Veterinary Medical Assn.’s House of Delegates elected 17 new council members during its session held in Washington, D.C., during the AVMA’s convention in July. New council members, by council, follow. Constituency represented is listed in parentheses.

Biologic and Therapeutic Agents

John Waddell, DVM, MBA (private clinical practice, predominantly food animal)


Helen K. McShane, DVM (private small animal practitioner)
Suzanne L. Craig, DVM, Dipl. ACLAM (at large)


Herbert E. Whiteley, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVP (veterinary medical research)
Nathan D. Voris, DVM, MBA (private equine clinical practice)
William S. Swecker, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVN (large animal clinical science)
Robert B. Cherenson, DVM (private practice, food animal exclusive)
Public Health and Regulatory Veterinary Medicine
Tracey DuVernoy, DVM, MPH, Dipl. ACVPM (public health agencies/armed forces)
Brushan Jayaro, DVM, Ph.D., MPH (public health agencies/armed forces)
Donald E. Hoenig, VMD (agricultural agencies)


G. David McCarroll, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM (private clinical practice)
Kent Lloyd, DVM, Ph.D. (veterinary medical research)

Veterinary Service

Carlos E. Bonnot, DVM (private mixed practice, predominantly food animal/equine)
Cheri A. Johnson, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVIM (academic clinical science)
Elysia Schaefer, DVM (recent graduates)


David Beauchamp, DVM (none specified)

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *