Schurig Assumes AAVMC Presidency

Gerhardt Schurig, DVM, MS, PhD

Suggested Veterinary Products

Gerhardt Schurig, DVM, MS, PhD, dean of the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine (VMRCVM ), took his position as the new president of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges’ (AAVMC) at the 2011 AAVMC summer meeting.

Dr. Schurig is a professor and veterinary immunologist in VMRCVM’s department of biomedical sciences and pathobiology. He spent two years working in the department of veterinary science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison then joined the faculty of Virginia Tech. Schurig previously served as chair of the department of veterinary biosciences, associate dean for research and graduate studies, director of Virginia Tech’s Institute for Biomedical and Public Health Sciences and as a senior researcher and former director of the Center for Molecular Medicine and

Infectious Diseases.

Read a Q&A with Dr. Schurig in

“Society holds practitioners of veterinary medicine in high esteem and those of us in academic veterinary medicine face the challenge of balancing the need for efficient and forward looking change with the need to maintain the best practices that make it such a great profession,” Schurig said. “Veterinary medical education instills a uniquely valuable, comparative approach to medicine and we need to continue on that path but we also need to pursue a vision that will enable us to progress and adapt to the future. I look forward to working with our member institutions and stakeholders to achieve this goal.”

Schurig is a member of the American Association of the Advancement of Science, the American Association of Veterinary Immunologists and the American Society of Microbiology.  He received the 1986 Beecham Award for Research Excellence.

Assembly members also elected Deborah Kochevar, DVM, PhD, dean of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, to the office of president-elect and other officers and directors to the association during the meeting.

Other filled positions:

Secretary: Stuart Reid, BVMS PhD DVM Dipl. ECVPH FRSE MRCVS, principal of the Royal Veterinary College at the University of London.

You May Also Like  RVTTC designated a WSAVA affiliate member

Treasurer: Peter Haynes, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVS dean of the Louisiana State University School of Veterinary Medicine.

At-large director for departments of comparative medicine: Christian Abee, DVM, chair of the department of veterinary science and director of the Michale E. Keeling Center for

Comparative Medicine and Research at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Center.

At-large director for Canadian colleges: Alastair Cribb, DVM, PhD, dean of the faculty of veterinary medicine at the University of Calgary.


Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *