MSU’s Patterson Captures National Teaching Award

Dr. Jon Patterson will be honored in March at the AAVMC annual conference.

Dr. Jon Patterson earned his veterinary degree from Cornell University in 1981 and his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois.

Suggested Veterinary Products

A Michigan State University professor described as having a passion for teaching and whose methods are shared with other educators has won the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges’ 2014 Distinguished Teacher Award.

Jon Patterson, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVP, will officially receive what AAVMC calls the most prestigious national teaching award in veterinary medicine during the organization’s annual conference March 14 in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Patterson, a professor in MSU’s department of pathobiology and diagnostic investigation, was a clear-cut winner, said AAVMC President Trevor Ames, DVM, MS, Dipl. ACVIM, the dean of the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine.

“His attention to teaching, devotion to the development of a high-quality curriculum, and ability to share his enthusiasm for research and mentor students are all qualities that we look for in an honoree,” Dr. Ames said.

Patterson teaches general pathology, neuropathology and diagnostic pathology to veterinary students and trains residents in veterinary anatomic pathology, AAVMC reported.

His nominator was department chairwoman L.J. McCutcheon, who said Patterson “brings [pathology] to life for students.”

His students echoed McCutcheon, stating in their nomination submission: “Dr. Patterson’s teaching methods are unanimously loved by all of his students; so much so that his lesson designs have been used as an example of how other teachers should consider presenting material.”

The Distinguished Teacher Award is sponsored by veterinary drug manufacturer Zoetis Inc. of Florham Park, N.J.

Four other veterinary educators will be honored at the AAVMC conference:

  • Excellence in Research Award: Susan VandeWoude, DVM, Dipl. ACLAM, of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biological Sciences, for her work on feline immunology and virology.
  • Iverson Bell Award: K. Paige Carmichael, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVP, of the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine, for promoting opportunities for underrepresented minorities in veterinary medical education.
  • Sen. John Melcher Leadership in Public Policy Award: L. Garry Adams, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVP, of the Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, for promoting veterinary legislative advocacy.
  • Recognition Lecture: Colorado State dean emeritus Lance Perryman, DVM, Ph.D., Dipl. ACVP, who was chosen to deliver the lecture because of his contributions to academic veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession.
Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *