Veterinarians Earn Top Honors

Veterinarians Earn Top Honorsveterinary award, veterinarain of the year award Yasuko Rikihisa, Thomas Catanzaro.

Ohio State University professor Dr. Rikihisa received an election to the National Academy of Sciences.

The American Veterinary Medical Association has selected Thomas Catanzaro, DVM, MHA, to receive the Bustad Companion Animal Veterinarian of the Year Award, and the National Academy of Sciences elected Ohio State University Professor Yasuko Rikihisa, Ph.D., to join its ranks.

The Bustad award, named for former dean of the Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine Leo K. Bustad, DVM, Ph.D., recognizes the work of veterinarians in preserving and protecting human-animal relationships. It is co-sponsored by  AVMA, Pet Partners and Hill’s Pet Nutrition Inc.

Dr. Catanzaro is the CEO of Veterinary Consulting International and a lifetime fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives.

The National Academy of Sciences is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research dedicated to furthering science and technology for the public good. New member Dr. Rikihisa is a professor in OSU’s Department of Veterinary Biosciences, specializing in tick-borne diseases that infect food and fiber-producing animals, companion animals and humans.

The university named Dr. Rikihisa its Innovator of the Year in 2011.

Post a Comment