Print full article

25 vet students receive scholarships for leadership, commitment to equine medicine

The students received a combined total of $104,000 in financial support Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program

Suggested Veterinary Products

Business Financing
DR Wizard 2.0

Twenty-five veterinary students preparing for a career in equine medicine have received a combined $104,000 in financial support through the Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program, co-sponsored by the American Association of Equine Practitioners’ (AAEP) Foundation, Platinum Performance and The Race for Education.

The Winner’s Circle scholarships are intended to help ease the financial burden of a veterinary education by offering fourth-year students at each of the AAEP’s 39 full or full-affiliate student chapters an opportunity to earn scholarships ranging from $1,500 to $5,000, depending on the needs of the individual student. Students are selected for scholarships based on their leadership roles and dedication to a future in equine healthcare.

Since its establishment in 2008, the Winner’s Circle Scholarship Program has provided $1,102,500 in scholarships to 280 veterinary students.

“The rising cost of veterinary school continues to present challenges to talented students who endeavor to enter the equine veterinary profession,” said Jeff Berk, VMD, chairman of the AAEP Foundation Advisory Council. “We are grateful to all of our donors and especially thank our partners Platinum Performance and The Race for Education for all their support. It’s hard to imagine we have been able to assist so many veterinary students with now more than $1 million in support since we started this program.”

Six students received $1,500 scholarships; 19 others received $5,000 scholarships, which included $4,000 in funds from a federal matching grant that The Race for Education received from the Assets for Independence program administered through The Race for Education’s Federal Grant program. Only U.S. students attending veterinary school in the U.S. were eligible for awards through the federal matching grant. An additional 11 applicants not selected for Winner’s Circle scholarships also received $4,000 awards through the federal matching grant.

Here are the following 2016 recipients:

  • Hugo Almonte, Purdue University
  • Maia Aspe, University of Saskatchewan
  • Katelynn Basala, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Rebecca Bishop, Tufts University
  • Caroline Brown, Tuskegee University
  • Jessica Dean, University of Missouri
  • Avery Gagnon, University of Guelph
  • Jessica Harvey, St. George’s University
  • Charlotte Hemstock, University of Calgary
  • Emily Johnson, Colorado State University
  • Nicole King, Michigan State University
  • Alaina Kringen, Iowa State University
  • Danielle Kurkowski, Washington State University
  • Courtney O’Connell, Cornell University
  • Lindsey Patton, North Carolina State University
  • Sarah Porter, University of Tennessee
  • Laura Sahlfeld, Oregon State University
  • Leah Sigmon, Ohio State University
  • Kile Townsend, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Sarah Varnell, University of California, Davis
  • Chelsea Walker, Oklahoma State University
  • Katie Weber, University of Wisconsin
  • Nicole Wettstein, University of Illinois
  • Sarah White, Texas A&M University
  • Jennifer Whitmore, Ross University
Leave a Comment



Sign-up for your account with Veterinary Practice News. Your account gives you unlimited free access to our Newsletter Archives and our Digital Editions of Veterinary Practice News.
Please check the box below to confirm you would like to be added to Kenilworth Media’s various e-mail communications (includes e-newsletters, a survey now and then, and offers to the veterinarian industry*).

Leave this empty:

*We do not sell your e-mail address to 3rd parties, we simply forward their offers to you. Of course, you always have the right to unsubscribe from any communications you receive from us, should you change your mind in the future.